Ay ay ay, finished Jane Eyre a while ago. Overall I really enjoyed it…it was one of those books that feels a part of your soul, where you laugh, cry, get angry, and at the end you feel you’ve lived a whole ‘nother life. It teaches you about yourself, and I have the sneaking suspicion that reading it over again in a couple years will be an equally rewarding experience. Jane is very endearing, and I loved the style in the beginning where all the kiddies talk as if they’re adults with these deep emotions. Makes your teenage outbreaks seem justified!! 😉 But yeah no really, this is a great book. …and cue favorite quotes!

“I cry because I am miserable.”

“Feeling without judgment is a washy draught indeed; but judgment untempered by feeling is too bitter and husky a morsel for human deglutition.”

“There is no happiness like that of being loved by your fellow-creatures, and feeling that your presence is an addition to their comfort.”

“There was no harassing restraint; no repressing of glee and vivacity with him; for with him I was at perfect ease, because I knew I suited him; all I said or did seemed either to console or revive him. Delightful consciousness! It brought to life and light my whole nature: in his presence I thoroughly lived; and he lived in mine.”

2 Responses to “Jane Eyre”

  1. Melanie

    Yay Jane! (I’m finally catching up with your blog…) Here’s MY favorite:

    “Looking up, I, with tear-dimmed eyes, saw the mighty Milky-way. Remembering what it was—what countless systems there swept space like a soft trace of light—I felt the might and strength of God. Sure was I of His efficiency to save what He had made: convinced I grew that neither earth should perish, nor one of the souls it treasured. I turned my prayer to thanksgiving: the Source of Life was also the Saviour of spirits.”

    Reply
    • jess

      oh yes that is a good one! it really was better than i thought it was going to be–and the vocab is crazy!!!! read anything good recently? i’m trying to decide what to read next…i started east of eden which is good (i love steinbeck) but after that i’m on the lookout.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS