Hope everyone had a lovely Valentine’s Day! I had a nice lazy day filled with blueberry pancakes, thick bacon, writing, reading, and the apartment all to myself–a pretty good day all around! Yesterday I started and finished Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott, which I really enjoyed. It is a very easy read and has inspired me to put some structure to my writing (almost nonexistent for a long while), instead of giving myself such a daunting goal of writing a novel someday. So I’m going to take the same approach as I did with the marathon and write a little bit every day (I started yesterday) and see what ideas I come up with. Then I’ll start bringing those together and hopefully work on a real project. So far it is fun! And I really like what she says–that writing is all about telling the truth. That was something I needed to hear because when I was a teenager I think I used writing to lie about my life and wallow in drama. Before I knew it I actually believed that some of those things were happening to me! It is much more freeing to be the scribe, bound to tell the truth, but also empowered to show my personal point of view. So yes, we’ll see πŸ™‚ I’m also reading The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society which is an enjoyable piece of fluff, if you like literary references and books written as a collection of letters. I needed something light after East of Eden and so far it is exactly what I was looking for.

And finally, I thought I’d share a few looks I am enjoying right now.Clearly I need a black tulip skirt! πŸ™‚

a-fine-romance-via-lookbook-nu

tulle-time-via-lookbook-nu

picture-13-via-elements-of-style

o-christmas-treee-via-elements-of-style

anthropologie-via-unruly-things

(photo cred: 1 & 2: via lookbook, 3 & 4: via elements of style, 5: anthropologie via unruly things)

