Hey hey!

Well it’s been a bit since I last wrote, so I thought I’d do a little update. Had my interview with Direct Supply on Tuesday, which was fun. It’s actually a really cool company…neat to see what a little innovative company actually looks like. I’ve been so indoctrinated by the Whirlpool model, which is more systems than really embodied by the culture, it was interesting to see it on the other side. I’ll be interested to see if Direct Supply starts putting in the systems to keep the innovative culture alive as they expand. Anyway, heard today that I didn’t get an offer. Turns out they really did want someone with 5-10 years of experience after all. This is what they had in their original posts which is why I didn’t apply in the first place, but oh well. Still was able to hang out with Matt for a bit (my cousin Becca’s boyfriend), and free delicious dinner and an amazing hotel room that is bigger than my apartment (although sadly I think  lost my glasses somewhere in that room and the hotel can’t find them…sad. Have been wearing my “backup” glasses the past couple days that I found for like $5 online and they hurt like a too-tight headband).

On a brighter note, I had a great phone interview with Uncommon Schools for this operations fellowship. They have a dual leader model of a principal and operations director where the latter takes care of everything non-instructional. So that would be my job the year after the fellowship, which sounds kind of awesome. I just submitted my essay questions today so hopefully I will hear from the committee soon!!

Anyway back to dinner and The Office, so til later!

ps. Also said no to the Whirlpool internship. Still holding out hope for a full-time job…c’mon people!

