It’s been a lovely weekend. On Saturday I got up early and went for a run. When I got out to the path, there were a BAJILLION people out so I asked a guy what was going on. Apparently there was a “little 10-miler” going on, and I could probably join in if I wanted. I said cool, but no thanks, I was only running 4 miles today. But oh how fun it was to run with so many people! I did have to do a lot of weaving, but that’s okay. I ended up feeling so energized I ran an extra mile, and much faster than I normally run, so yay!

Got back to the apartment and changed shirts and put on my yoga capris and walked over to the Family Resource Center, which I learned was actually on the second floor of a church. I was going for free yoga led by one of the SSA grad students, and when I got there I found out that we were going to be practicing outside on the grass in a little courtyard…awesome! It was so peaceful and a great way to spend an hour and a half, but gosh my quads were BURNING! But honestly the best feeling in the world is doing the shivasana at the end…oh my gosh I am never so restful and at peace. And I made friends! There were 5-6 girls there and apparently they do yoga pretty regularly together, including at the  business school so I’ll have to check it out one of these days (well actually I think they’re ending this week….) but if I’m still in Chicago over the summer they have free yoga in Millenium Park every Saturday morning so I’m thinking about running downtown, doing yoga for an hour or so, and then running back. That would be about 14 miles, maybe a little less, so it’s good that they don’t start up the activities until a bit later in June. But I’m excited!

Also when I got back from yoga I made this delicious pasta. It really is so quick and divine. I really do love prosciutto, even though it is so expensive. But I figure pasta, peas, and cheese are pretty inexpensive, so the $/meal is not that bad. Supposed to make 4 servings, but I was rather hungry and ate it in two and a half (yes, it’s gone already). I did it pretty much along the recipe, except for adding a pinch of red pepper flakes and mixing in a bit of parmesan cheese at the end before serving. Really, it was soooooo good you should try it!

Today I was supposed to do Bike the Drive but I woke up so sleepy and after chatting with Mom online it was almost over, so I guess I missed it. Oh well. As it turns out you could only enter from Jackson, so I would have had to take the bus with my bike downtown and then ride south…which seemed like kind of a hassle. Ah well. Other than that I have been really lazy–saved some jobs to apply to, watched several episodes of Doogie Howser (seriously, my NPH obsession is reaching dangerous levels), and browsed a lot of blogs to add to Google Reader.

I think I’ll write for a bit and then eat some dinner…and I should post a little shout out for the Cavs who are playing Orlando tonight in Game 3! I am hoping they do well so Drew is in a good mood and so he doesn’t abandon the jersey I got him (apparently the Cavs are 1-3 while he wears it). Hope you all had fabulous weekends! So sad that another week is already here to greet us. 😉

One Response to “Update”

  1. Terry B

    Glad you liked the pasta! Thanks for the shout out—and the red pepper flakes sound like a great addition.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS