Okay I’ll be honest, I didn’t really think these were gonna be as good as they were. First off, they took FOREVER. I ended up making a crapload of large and mini bagels to use for pizza bagels. Which I decided halfway through so I had to degas the little ones so I could make the holes smaller so the sauce didn’t fall in the middle. But hey, I fulfilled a pestering daydream these days of owning a bakery and making bread for a living, because that’s what it sort of feels like when I get up to make a poolish or take the dough out of the refrigerator…it’s nice. 🙂 But yeah, I ended up making 2 cinnamon sugar, 2 poppyseed, 2 everything (my “everything” was poppyseeds, sesame seeds, cinnamon, sugar, and salt), and about 20 pizza bagels. They were all really good! I preferred the large ones because I hadn’t degassed them and I didn’t leave them in the water as long so they were a bit less chewy. Michael really liked the chewy though and pronounced this the first bread of the challenge that he liked. I ate one of mine right away and it was so warm and delicious I immediately forgot how long they took to make and just enjoyed! I did use the baking soda in the water and I think that did a good job in glazing the outsides a bit. It was better than any bagel I’ve ever bought…and that’s saying something because I really love bagels!!! Okay Peter Reinhart, maybe you do know what’s up. 🙂

DSC00267

DSC00268

Pizza bagels!

DSC00271

