This weekend I read The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway. I think this was my first novel by Hemingway; I had read other short stories by him that I enjoyed. At first I was really taken aback by his writing style. I am used to reading long, poetic, meaty sentences—and this Hemingway is not. He uses a direct voice that is simple, everyday, and focused on moving the plot along. But he also does quite a bit of foreshadowing, and I just love how he hints at the way he is feeling first, and then bounds into the exposing dialogue. It’s light and airy and nice. Most of the story takes place in Spain, which has a very special place in my heart, and much of the action revolves around the San Fermin festival is going on, so I also got to experience my own memories of La Merce in Barcelona. At the end I was left a bit disappointed, but looking back on it, there was only one way for it to end. So I enjoyed it and look forward to my next Hemingway novel (though if you enjoy short stories, I’ve always found A Clean, Well-lighted Place to be a good one).

In TSAR, the characters are originally from Paris, and what with several blog friends visiting Paris and general feeling of wanderlust, I must also share with you this fantastic website that I hope to use in the future, called a Haven in Paris. Basically it is a catalog of houses and apartments that they own that you can rent while you are in Paris, Tuscany, or Montmarte. It is definitely more money than a hostel (my mode of choice thus far), but definitely less expensive than a hotel and you also have the ability to make your own meals. I cannot wait to try. And as I’m daydreaming, wouldn’t that just be a beautiful way to live, operating a fleet of beautiful spaces for people to come enjoy and fall in love with your city? I think so.

haven in paris

ANYway, I’ve decided not to be a lump on the couch today, so after a shower and a meal, I’m going out to explore some things in DC for the day, and perhaps also getting some writing in. Visiting the National Book Festival has inspired me again…but more on that later.

2 Responses to “The Sun Also Rises”

  1. Regina

    Hi Jess,

    Since you like Hemingway and are thinking of Paris, then you must read my favorite Hemingway book: A Moveable Feast. There is a newer “restored edition” which I have not read (though I have heard some not-so-nice comments regarding it). I recommend reading the original edition.

    Reply
    • jess

      Hmm, I was actually thinking of getting that on the Kindle yesterday but hadn’t heard much about it! I think I will try it out. Thanks! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS