Just a quick update to say I finished A Moveable Feast, Hemingway’s memoir of his time in Paris during the 1920s. While it did offer splendid portraits about life in Paris, I think I enjoyed more his interactions with Gertrude Stein (don’t think I’ve ever read anything of hers…) and F. Scott Fitzgerald. Also his life as a writer…I took many notes and was somewhat reassured that Hemingway wrote the first draft of The Sun Also Rises in just six weeks. This gives me a bit of hope that you can edit the crap out of hastily written draft, say, written during NaNo, so that you end up with some semblance of a respectable novel. I have been taking notes and outlining plot and characters before it starts in November, but I still have a lot to do. I am hopeful, though, that I can get this project off the ground this year (as opposed to last year’s complete failure…I had no plan and I don’t think I got more than a diary entry out of the whole venture). Which will be good as after the marathon I will need something to do so I don’t go crazy.

Currently reading The Stranger by Albert Camus, which I like. Got very busy yesterday so I hopefully I can finish it today or tomorrow. We’ll see.

2 Responses to “A Moveable Feast”

  1. Steven Harris

    HEnry Miller’s books have some interesting accounts of his own time in Paris.

    Reply
    • jess

      Thanks for the tip! I admit that I haven’t read too much of Milller…I’ll have to check something out.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS