Did you think I died? The truth is, very nearly. I’ve actually been participating in NaNoWriMo, where you give over your life to literary abandon and write 50,000 words worth of a novel in one month. Guess where I’m at? 47,000 words, at 12:35 pm on November 30. After the last 3,000 words, I promise I will resume regular posting over here. The whole NaNo experience has been really fun, rewarding, and at times difficult. I wrote about something rather close to home, and sometimes it was a bit painful to relive. But! I am rather proud of myself for having completed such a large piece of work, and I’m looking forward to the editing (that is, after I finish the first draft…during this month the unhappy conclusion dawned on me that 50,000 isn’t quite a full novel. Rather, it’s more like half of one. So more writing remains in my future. Though I feel like I have a good idea of where the plot is going, and I’ve done a bit of outlined paragraphs that I can go back and fill in later.) Anyway! I think I’m going to get some lunch and empty my head with some television. Then it’s back at it so I can finish on time!

4 Responses to “From the Black Hole”

  1. Meg

    I’m reading a romance novel to allow my brain to recuperate. My mom noticed and commented on my literary tastes “going down.” I just glared and commented that
    A) I have WRITTEN A NOVEL in the past month and my brain cells need a rest.
    B) I’d rather live vicariously through Penelope Featherington as she falls in love with Colin Bridgerton in 1824 London than worry about any of the men I do/do not know in real life.

    So glad we did it!

    Reply
    • jess

      Glad we did it as well! I haven’t looked at my novel since November 30…I needed a break! I do plan to get back to it eventually, to finish up the draft and add in all the scenes. I would like a readable draft, if only for myself! But yeah…have you had the problem of seeing literature as a writer? I tried to read one of my favorite books, Empire Falls, and all I could think about was how he started and ended chapters!!! I couldn’t get into the story at all! So frustrating–I’m hoping this doesn’t last long.

      Reply
  2. Meg

    Welllllll…I am still on the romance novel kick. So I’m into the stories, but YES! I DO notice how Julia Quinn operates as a writer, especially in terms of how she expresses character’s thoughts. And dialogue. Oy vey…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS