We had a lovely Valentine’s Day yesterday…hope you did too!

Well, full disclosure–we woke up yesterday morning in a fight, which was torture as I made Drew’s Valentine and tried to think of something lovey and true when all I could feel was the fact that we were not okay. I ended up with a somewhat depressing but longhaul-themed card, to the tune of “I’m not happy with you right now but I will always be here for you and I love you very much.” Yeah. But luckily Drew found me scrubbing the kitchen sink and doing a load of laundry when he woke up (a sure sign that I am…pissed) and we had a nice talk and made up. Hooray!

We spent most of the day watching the Olympics, playing with the dog, etc. and then Drew read his basketball book while Goliath and I took a nap. Around four five I decided I should start the beef bourguignon, so I got to work. I sauteed the bacon, browned the beef, sauteed the onion and carrot, and put it all in the pot with herbs and wine and stock. And then into the oven. By this time it was nearly 6 o’clock, and then I read that the stew should simmer for 3-4 hours. Hmmm. Eat dinner at 10 o’clock when I was nearly passed out and ready to go to bed, or save the beef for tomorrow (today) and go out instead? We chose option B. Drew took us to kora, a new italian place near us I’ve been dying to try. Drew had the roast chicken with bacon and cheese macaroni and some sort of green sauce. I had seared sea bass and saffron orzo and asparagus. Both were quite tasty! And Drew decided that he may like white fish after all, so I am very excited about the possibility of making some at home soon 🙂 Oh, and he REALLY liked the herb ciabatta they had to start, so I think I’ll have to go back and make that for him since I was in PA when I first made it. We were going to get dessert but the waiter took a lifetime to check on us, and in the meantime we decided we were more in the mood for Coldstone, so we walked over there instead. We got back to the apartment with 11 minutes to spare on the timer for the beef–just enough to take out the dog and have a short singalong with matching fantastic dance moves to “Come on Get Higher” (on repeat, since I only know the chorus). We were interrupted, however, by a friendly neighbor who asked, when we were done goofing off, could we tell her if she could park along the service road? Sorry lady, goofing off is how we roll, but yes, you can park on the service road. We giggled to ourselves as we made it back to our apartment, where we snuggled in to eat our ice cream watch Julie & Julia (chosen to educate Drew on beef bourguignon, as earlier that day he had never heard of it before), during which, inevitably, I fell asleep…somewhere around the 3/4 mark. But it was quite good and a happy day for us, and in the end that’s all that matters.

I did manage to get Drew to take a picture!

And happy day, beef bourguignon for dinner tonight 🙂

3 Responses to “Valentine’s Update (and my new hair!)”

  1. sagehope

    Hi, I found you by the tag “LOVE” I am connecting with people who are on some level like minded. So, Hi, and hope to speak to you in the near future.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS