I’ve been on a long search for some artwork for over our living room fireplace. At first I was thinking of a gigantic print of Goliath, in Andy Warhol-style bright orange and white. I still might do that, but lately I’ve been digging more muted, abstract oil paintings like the ones below. But man…the prices! Perhaps I missed my calling as an artist? 😉 But seriously I might try my hand at a large canvas that we could put up in the back bedroom because $1000+ minimum is just not in my budget. So for now I’ll have to just admire these from afar, and perhaps use them as inspiration for my own project!

Here are several by Robert Rea, found via Elements of Style.





Aren’t they fantastic? I just love the colors and how soothing they are.

The next few are from UGallery, which in general I really like for discovering student and emerging artists. The first one is by Janet Hamilton. Reminds me a bit of Gerhard Richter with the scraping and many layers of paint.

And finally these last two are from Lana Williams…I love her technique! I’m obsessed with the yellow one!!


Well, what do you think? Any favorite artists you want to share? I love learning about new ones!! Hope everyone is having a great weekend! Drew and I are watching the Masters and Goliath is sleeping like a log after a fun time at the dog park. 🙂 I feel bad for McIlroy…he was doing so well there and then he just had a terrible time of it on that one hole. Also–I totes didn’t know that you could get more than a 6 in real golf. Drew looked at me incredulously and said, “This ain’t no putt putt!” Guess not. 😦 lol

p.s. I’m rooting for Charl Schwartzel since he’s Ernie Els’s protege and now that McIlroy is out of the running, but p.p.s I’m naming my next dog Rory, could be for a boy or a girl since there’s the Gilmore Girls connection as well. 🙂

One Response to “Original Artwork”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS