Okay, since my last post on original artwork I’ve been doing some research and came across Michelle Armas, and am now completely obsessed. You can find all of her work here, and she also has a blog! I am in LOVE with her style and may have bought “Acrylic Painting for Dummies” on Amazon last night so I could shamelessly and I’m sure piteously try to copy her on a few cheap canvases. Here are my favorites (and believe you me–this is the edited list!! I seriously love everything she’s ever done).

This one is my absolute fave and NEED in our back bedroom. The colors are PERFECT and I could paint the walls a light blue with gray undertones (top righthand corner) and then have some green curtains the same color as our living room up on the windows (the bedding is blues and white)…seriously I am in love with this painting!

But then there’s this one and it’s like…well maybe THESE colors are perfect! Actually even now I’m changing my mind, maybe this one is my favorite. 🙂

But they are all beautiful…


Could you imagine having this in your office? So inspiring!

LOVE ❤







Okay this is possibly the best thing I’ve ever seen over a mantle. Yes, I’m sure it is.


I mean seriously, is she not amazing? I am totally in love. Perhaps I need to save up some monies to buy that second one…hmmm…anyway until then I’m going to try my hand at it. I’m sure they’ll be nowhere near as good, but I like painting and I’ve always wanted to do a larger work, and something more abstract. Also, since doing my vintage woman a couple years ago, I’ve learned the value of having a polyurathane top coat. It is a little scuffed up and I may have to redo it. Which would be fine, because I really needed a bigger canvas so I could stretch out more of her body. In mine she looks quite short and plump lol 🙂

When I told Drew that I bought my new painting book he was like, “Oh, is this the new fad for Jessica?” LOL guess so! BUT I am keeping up with my Penzu! If you didn’t see on Twitter, it’s a private blogging platform that sends you a reminder email every day so you can’t skip out on writing. I’ve been getting up early every day to write and I’m loving it! It makes me start the day happier and more relaxed, so a win-win. Also I emailed their support team and they are super responsive and releasing the feature I requested (ability to page through entries as opposed to looking at them individually or in a big long list) really soon, so I am excited for that! Yay 🙂 Still planning to blog over here, don’t worry! I know you weren’t. 😉 Anyway, hope everyone has a fantastic day today–I better get going and take a shower so I’m not completely late to work, gah!!

One Response to “Obsessed: Michelle Armas”

  1. Carol Ann Hoel

    They are beautiful. I like the way the two hanging in the otherwise drab little office brighten it with lively color. Amazing! Blessings to you, Jess…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS