Hey guys,

So, haven’t posted about our San Francisco trip at the beginning of the summer yet, or really anything else, but we’re engaged! Actually it happened a couple weeks ago now a month ago now, but I’ve been waiting for it to set in. See, I was in Spain with Mom and Michael since his soccer team was training with some academy teams in Barcelona and Valencia. They needed chaperones, and I graciously volunteered (hello, free ticket!). We were there for about 10 days and had an awesome time, and when we came home, Todd picked us up from the airport. On the way home (I had driven Drew’s car up to Philly so we could all fly out together, and was planning to pick up the car in Philly and drive back down to DC that night), we stopped at Wawa so Mom could buy a lottery ticket (the Powerball was something like $220 million). Then as we got home, I noticed there was another car in the driveway besides mine. I saw Drew peeking out of the garage and we were all like, “What the heck is Drew doing here?!” And as Todd parks, and we stumble out of the car (at this point we are all EXHAUSTED–literally slept 2-3 hours a night on the trip, and then long plane ride coming back that day), Drew is literally BOUNDING out of the garage and I’m kinda like “Hey…” in that sleepy way when he gets down on one knee and says, “I have a question for you…will you marry me?” And I’m sitting there looking at his face and all I’m thinking is that I’m glad to see him and I kind of say, “Yeah!” in a surprised way. And we hug and then I start hugging my mom and my brothers and Drew’s like, “Uh, well, do you want the ring?” and I’m like, “Oh, yes!” and so he puts the ring on my finger and we hug again and Mom exclaims, “I’m so glad we bought those lottery tickets!!” which was just perfect for our little awkward moment.

I admit to maybe dreaming of a bit more buildup before the question, but I’m glad my family was there to witness it, and meeting us after we got back to Spain enabled him to really surprise me (and boy was I surprised! It didn’t sink in for like a week). Then we spent the next hour calling all of our family and friends to tell them the news. Grandparents whooped and cheered (they’re the best) and told me to give Drew a handshake from Poppa and a hug from Grandma, to which Drew replied, “Well okay, but the next time I see you I’m shaking hands with Grandma and giving Poppa a hug!” And we laughed and then ate some filet that Todd made for the occasion before Drew and I headed back to DC. A really nice night to end an amazing couple of weeks in my favorite city (hmm, can I say that? I’ll have to think about it, but Barcelona definitely holds a special place in my heart).

So, fast forward a month and now I’m planning a wedding! I say I’m planning it because Drew is purposefully trying to give me a lot of freedom with all the details, though I think it’s been more of a joint effort for things like the food, music, and probably the wedding cakes (yes, we’re having more than one cake! but we haven’t gotten to that yet). It’s been fun and overwhelming but then fun again 🙂 In terms of our relationship though, nothing has really changed. I was really curious to see if anything would feel different, like would I feel more secure or that our relationship felt more solid or maybe just different after we’d gotten engaged. But really, it’s exactly the same. It’s still us, doing crazy dances in the car to the Spice Girls (Drew calls mine “the pointer dance” and I still laugh really hard every time he does “the seizure dance”) while Goliath hangs his head out the window as we drive to Chipotle for dinner. It’s still us, curled up in the living room watching Jersey Shore while Goliath digs his nails into our necks from his perch on top of the sofa. It’s still us, taking nighttime walks and sharing stories about when we were kids, how work is going, and what we want to be when we grow up. He’s still my best friend, the person I am most comfortable being me around, and with whom I now get to plan a really big party 🙂 So, it’s been fun.

Maybe when we get married it will feel a bit different, more permanent maybe? I don’t know…for now it feels the same, which is good I think. Maybe if we had gotten engaged right when we decided that we’d be together forever, then there would have been a more recognizable shift, but it’s been part of the plan for a while, and we already considered ourselves a family (no kids though! not until 30, at least! lol), so maybe it was just kind of gradual. In any case, we’re pretty excited! And that’s the story…the end. 🙂

