I was watching House Hunters Renovation on HGTV last night, and was totally inspired by this couple’s living room in their new LA home. Her style is beachy, laid back, lots of rattans, and distressed wood. His style is modern industrial, lots of metals, neutral colors. Their designer came up with an amazing room that really blended both styles and felt comfy, colorful and modern at the same time. I could only find this itty bitty picture of it online, but you get the idea.

Here’s my attempt to recreate the look:
beachy industrial living room

I think it turned out pretty well…I had a hard time picking out that red chair and the rattan ottoman and I definitely skewed more beachy than industrial. During the process I discovered Barn Light Electric, which has some pretty awesome industrial/retro lighting. Here are some of my favorites:

Primary Schoolhouse Stem Mount Light, Small Shade, 975-Galvanized, Single Stripe, 311-Jadite16" Outback Pendant, 49-Galvanized | Guard, 43-Red | Black Cord Hung15" The Old Dixie Cord Hung Pendant, 400 - Barn Red, Red Cheveron Cord16" Baylor Pendant, 49-Galvanized | Black Cord Hung16" Holophane Shade | 62-Anodized Black, Prismatic Glass Globe, Black Cord HungIndy Industrial Pendant, Black Socket, Turn Key, Black Cord Hung, Nostalgic Edison-Style 1890 Era 40 Watt Light Bulb (Not Included) | Turn key22" Vintage Pendant, Polished NickelBungalow 4-Light Pendant, Blackened SteelThe Metropolitan Dual Finish PendantThe Mig Retro Steel Industrial Pendant Light, Jadite

Source: 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 / 6 / 7 / 8 / 9 / 10 / 11 / 12

